THE 29TH ANNUAL HENRY PALEY MEMORIAL AWARD

Christopher B. Nelson

President, St. John's College, Annapolis, MD

Since assuming the presidency of St. John's College in Annapolis, MD, in 1991, Christopher B. Nelson has been a constant presence for the private, nonprofit higher education sector. Before accountability was a national buzzword, Chris Nelson was a key member of NAICU's 1994 Task Force on Appropriate Accountability, helping to frame the language still used in our sector about the importance of self-regulation to preserving the core quality and diversity of American higher education.

Among a distinguished set of voices for the value of the liberal arts, none is more articulate nor better known than Nelson. *The Washington Post* cited Nelson as one of the most influential college presidents in the country in a profile marking his 20th anniversary at St. John's College in 2011.

From Congressional testimony to speaking engagements to opinion essays to blog posts to congressional testimony, he regularly engages in the national conversation about higher education. Recently, he has addressed issues of institutional autonomy in the face of government regulatory intrusion, changes proposed to the accrediting system, defining the role of liberal education as an excellent grounding for career and professional development and, most importantly, for an open-minded pursuit of lifelong learning. He is a regular contributor to the opinion pages of *The Washington Post* and *The Huffington Post* as well as a prolific writer of the

blog Sign Post for Liberal Education (blogs.sjc.edu/christopher-nelson/).

But above all, Nelson's voice resonates because his educational philosophy is rooted in a desire to help all students find within themselves that which defines their humanity. In a time when the national conversation increasingly seeks to reduce education to numbers and dollars, Nelson's voice cuts through the clatter and misguided measures of values to remind all educators of our common and most fundamental purpose.

St. John's is devoted to the most liberal of liberal education. Its richly varied curriculum focuses on an integrated study of philosophy, literature, history, theology, political science, mathematics, music, and science. Students and faculty engage directly—not through textbooks and lectures but through study and discussion—with original texts and ideas that are at the foundations of Western thought.

A 1970 alumnus of St. John's College and a graduate of the University of Utah College of Law, Nelson practiced law in Chicago for 18 years and was chairman of his law firm when he left the practice for the top leadership post at St. John's College. He was active on numerous national, state and local Bar Association committees and published articles in the field of labor and employee benefits law.

Nelson is serving or has served on a number of boards and committees related to education. He is currently serving a second three-year term on the NAICU Board of Directors and serves on the Accountability Committee. Nelson is a former chair of the Board of Directors of the Maryland Independent Colleges and Universities Association and a past chair and a founding member of the Annapolis Group, a consortium of over 120 of the nation's leading liberal arts colleges. He also served on the board for the Council of Independent Colleges and as chair of the Board of Trustees of Shimer College.

Named for Henry Paley, president of the Commission on Independent Colleges and Universities of New York from 1975 until 1984, the award recognizes an individual who embodies his spirit of unfailing service toward the students and faculty of independent higher education. The winner of this award has set an example for all who would seek to advance educational opportunity in the United States.

HENRY PALEY MEMORIAL AWARD RECIPIENTS

recipients; no new award was given)

2015	Christopher B. Nelson, President,	2000	Sr. Mary Andrew Matesich,
	St. John's College (MD)		Ohio Dominican College
2014	NAICU Legal Services Review Panel	1999	David Irwin, Washington Association of
2013	Bernard Fryshman, Executive Vice		Independent Colleges and Universities
	President, Association of Advanced Rabbinacal and Talmudic Schools	1998	Rev. William J. Sullivan, Seattle University (WA)
2012	Patricia A. McGuire, President, Trinity	1997	James Whalen, Ithaca College (NY)
	Washington University (DC)	1996	John Frazer, Association of Independent
2011	The Rev. Charles L. Currie, S.J.,		Kentucky Colleges and Universities
	President, Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities	1995	Richard F. Rosser, National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities
2010	Sister Kathleen Ross, SNJM, Heritage University (WA)	1994	Sr. Dorothy Ann Kelly, College of New Rochelle (NY)
2009	Morgan Odell, Association of Independent	1993	Derek Bok, Harvard University
	California Colleges and Universities	1992	(Special Summit Meeting –
2008	The Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C.,		no award was given)
	University of Notre Dame (IN)	1991	Francis "Mike" Michelini, Association
2007	Alexander W. (Sandy) Astin, Higher Education Research Institute,		of Independent Colleges and Universities of Pennsylvania
	University of California	1990	The Honorable Silvio Conte, U.S.
2006	Clare Cotton, The Association	1990	House of Representatives
	of Independent Colleges and Universities of Massachusetts	1989	The Honorable Thomas H. Kean,
			Governor, New Jersey
2005	Robert N. Kelly, Kansas Independent	1988	The Honorable William H. Natcher,
	College Association		U.S. House of Representatives
2004	Michael S. McPherson, Spencer Foundation, Macalester College (MN)	1987	Frank "Sandy" Tredinnick, Association of Independent Colleges and
2003	James C. Ross, Commission on Independent		Universities in Massachusetts
	Colleges and Universities of New York	1986	James Ream, Pennsylvania Association
2002	Allen P. Splete, Council of		of Colleges and Universities
	Independent Colleges	1985	Rev. Timothy S. Healy,
2001	(Special NAICU 25th Anniversary Meeting recognizing all previous		Georgetown University (DC)