The Legal Services Review Panel 


The Legal Services Review Panel evaluates legal issues affecting independent colleges and universities, and advises members on the implications of precedent-setting litigation.


Current Members (Effective April, 2018)
 
Dana Scaduto (Chair)
 
General Counsel 
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-3346
dana.scaduto@dartmouth.edu
Class of 2018
 
Kelly Capen Douglas
 
General Counsel
University of San Diego
San Diego, CA  92110
(619) 260-7974
Fax: (619) 849-8219 
kdouglas@SanDiego.edu
Class of 2019
 
C. Todd Jones
 
President
Association of Independent Colleges and Universities of Ohio  
Columbus, OH 43215-6152
(614) 228-2196
Fax: (614) 228-8406
tjones@aicuo.edu 
Class of 2020
 
Beverly E. Ledbetter
 
Vice President & General Counsel
Brown University 
Providence, RI 02912-1913
(401) 863-1104
Fax:  (401) 863-1199
BEL_ATTY@brown.edu
Class of 2017
 
Shapri D. LoMaglio
 
Vice President for Government and External Relations
Council for Christian Colleges and Universities
Washington, DC 20002
(202) 546-8713 ext 300
slomaglio@cccu.org
Class of 2019
 
Jim Newberry
 
Steptoe & Johnson PLLC
Lexington, KY  40504
(859) 219-8226
Fax:  (859) 255-6903 
jim.newberry@steptoe-johnson.com
Class of 2018
 
José D. Padilla 
 
Vice President & General Counsel
DePaul University
Chicago, IL  60604
(312) 362-8590
Fax:  (312) 362-5664
jpadill7@depaul.edu 
Class of 2018
 
Dorothy K. Robinson
 
Of Counsel
K & L Gates LLP
New York, NY  10022-6030
(203) 432-4949
Fax:  (203) 432-7960
dorothy.robinson@klgates.com
Class of 2020
 
Stephen D. Sencer 
 
Senior Vice President and General Counsel 
Emory University
Atlanta, GA 30322
(404) 727-2016
Fax:  (404) 727-6098
steve.sencer@emory.edu 
Class of 2020
 
Basil H. Thomson
 
Attorney at Law
Woodway, TX  76712
(254) 744-5565
Fax:  (214) 768-1281
ThomsonHigherEdLaw@gmail.com 
Class of 2019
 
Thomas R. West
 
Vice President for Government Relations and General Counsel
North Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities
Raleigh, North Carolina  27604
(919) 832-5817
Fax:  (919) 272-6173
west@ncicu.org
Class of 2019
 
Jennifer Widness
 
President
Connecticut Conference of Independent Colleges
Farmington, CT  06032
(860) 678-0005
Fax:  (860) 678-0006
widnessj@theccic.org
Class of 2018
 
John B. Wilson
 
President
Association of Independent Colleges and Universities in New Jersey
Summit, NJ 07901-1107
(908) 277-3738
Fax:  (908) 277-0851 
jbwilson@njcolleges.org  
Class of 2019
 
Chair Emeritus:
 
Philip R. Moots
 
Attorney at Law
Newhouse, Prophater, Kolman & Hogan, L.L.C.
Columbus, OH 43220
(614) 255-5441
Fax:  (614) 255-5446
pmoots@npkhlaw.com
 
 
Staff Liaison:
 
Jon Fuller
 
Senior Fellow, NAICU
Carlisle, PA  17013
(717) 240-0462
Fax:  (717) 240-0486
jon@naicu.edu
 
Top