





March 23, 2021

To the Michigan Congressional Delegation,

We are writing to encourage you to take a leadership role in enacting the proposal to double the Pell Grant maximum award and to ensure that the increase is permanent. No greater step could be taken to increase access and success for the nearly 174,000 Pell Grant students who attend Michigan's postsecondary institutions each year.

The most important step Congress can take to make college possible for low-income and first-generation college students is to double the Pell Grant. Pell Grants are the largest education funding mechanism for low-income families, targeting financial education support to the neediest and having the largest impact on developing our communities and workforce. Expanding the grant would also ensure that more working-class families are served through the program.

As Michigan's representatives in Congress, we know you are aware of how integral this program is to our state's college students. This year, the program will provide nearly \$680 million to help needy students attend college in our state. The impact this program has had on Michigan and our nation's system of higher education is without compare as countless students have been able to access higher education who otherwise would not have had the opportunity.

This letter comes to you from all of Michigan's college and university presidents representing public and private, nonprofit institutions across our state. We come together in support of this essential effort that will support students for generations to come. We believe that doubling the Pell Grant will help our nation, our students, our educators, and ultimately, our state's overall economic, civic, and social wellbeing.

We, the higher education leaders in Michigan, stand ready to assist you in this collective effort to ensure this program can continue to transform the lives of the students we serve.

Sincerely,

Michigan's College and University Presidents

Dr. Jeffrey R Docking President Adrian College	Rev. Dr. Ryan Peterson VP of Administration Office of the President Concordia University-Ann Arbor	Mr. Matthew Scogin President Hope College
Dr. Matthew Johnson	Dr. Joseph M. Stowell	Dr. Daniel Phelan
President	President	President
Albion College	Cornerstone University	Jackson College
Dr. Jeff Abernathy	Dr. Richard Pappas	Dr. Jorge G. Gonzalez
President	President	President
Alma College	Davenport University	Kalamazoo College
Dr. Don MacMaster President Alpena Community College	Dr. Jean Goodnow President Delta College	Dr. Marshall Washington President Kalamazoo Valley Community College
Dr. Andrea Luxton	Dr. James M. Smith	Dr. Adrien Bennings
President	President	President
Andrews University	Eastern Michigan University	Kellogg Community College
Dr. Kevin Quinn	Dr. David L. Eisler	Dr. Robert K. McMahan Jr.
President	President	President
Aquinas College	Ferris State University	Kettering University
Dr. Bart Daig	Dr. Philip Johnson	Dr. Thomas Quinn
President	President	President
Baker College	Finlandia University	Kirtland Community College
Dr. Laura Coleman	Dr. David Devier	Dr. Trevor Kubatzke
President	President	President
Bay College	Glen Oaks Community College	Lake Michigan College
Dr. Michael K. Le Roy	Dr. George McNulty	Dr. Rodney Hanley
President	President	President
Calvin University	Gogebic Community College	Lake Superior State University
Dr. Robert O. Davies	Dr. Bill Pink	Dr. Steve Robinson
President	President	President
Central Michigan University	Grand Rapids Community College	Lansing Community College
Dr. Emily Barnes	Dr. Philomena V. Mantella	Dr. Virinder Moudgil
President & CEO	President	President & CEO
Cleary University	Grand Valley State University	Lawrence Technological University
Dr. Donald Tuski	Mr. Russell Kavalhuna, J.D.	Dr. James Sawyer IV, Ed.D.
President	President	President
College for Creative Studies	Henry Ford College	Macomb Community College

Dr. Michael A. Grandillo President Madonna University Dr. Nick Nissley
President
Northwestern Michigan College

Dr. Antoine Garibaldi President University of Detroit Mercy

Dr. Samuel L. Stanley Jr., M.D.
President
Michigan State University

Mr. Peter Provenzano, Jr.
Chancellor
Oakland Community College

Dr. Mark Schlissel, M.D.
President
University of Michigan

Dr. Richard J. Koubek
President
Michigan Technological University

Dr. Ora Hirsch Pescovitz, M.D.
President
Oakland University

Dr. Domenico Grasso
Chancellor
University of Michigan-Dearborn

Mr. Tim Hood President Mid Michigan College Dr. Steven M. Corey President Olivet College Dr. Debasish Dutta Chancellor University of Michigan-Flint

Dr. Kojo Quartey
President
Monroe County Community College

Dr. Brian Stogner
President
Rochester University

Michael Levens, Ph.D. President & CEO Walsh College

Dr. Stacy Young
President
Montcalm Community College

Dr. Donald Bachand President Saginaw Valley State University Dr. Rose Bellanca President Washtenaw Community College

Dr. Beverly Walker-Griffea President Mott Community College Dr. Glenn Cerny President Schoolcraft College Dr. Curtis Ivery
Chancellor
Wayne County Community College
District

Dr. Dale Nesbary
President
Muskegon Community College

Sr. Peg Albert O.P. Ph.D. President Siena Heights University Dr. M. Roy Wilson, M.D.
President
Wayne State University

Dr. David Roland Finley
President
North Central Michigan College

Dr. Joe Odenwald President Southwestern Michigan College Mr. Scott Ward President West Shore Community College

Dr. Fritz J. Erickson President Northern Michigan University Dr. Brent D. Ellis President Spring Arbor University Dr. Edward B. Montgomery
President
Western Michigan University

Dr. Deborah Snyder President St. Clair County Community College





