

April 1, 2021

Senator Jeff Merkley 531 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Congressman Cliff Bentz 1239 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Congresswoman Suzanne Bonamici 2231 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Congressman Kurt Schrader 2431 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 Senator Ron Wyden 221 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Congressman Earl Blumenauer 1111 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Congressman Peter DeFazio 2134 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Members of the State of Oregon's Congressional Delegation:

As presidents of Oregon's private, nonprofit colleges and universities, we write to urge your leadership in enacting President Biden's proposal to double the Pell Grant maximum and ensure that investment is permanent by making the increased portion of the grant an entitlement. No greater step could be taken to increase access and success for the nearly 72,000 students who rely on Pell Grants to attend a postsecondary institution in Oregon.

This year alone, Pell Grants are providing nearly \$270 million to make college possible for students from low-income families and those who are the first in their families to pursue postsecondary education. The impact this program has had on the lives of individuals and their families, and the economic health and competitiveness of the State of Oregon, and indeed the nation, is without parallel.

Next year our nation will celebrate the 50th Anniversary of the Pell Grant program. It would be a fitting tribute to our state and nation to honor this pivital milestone by doubling the program by the June 23, 2022 anniversary and tying the legacy of the Pell Grant program to the 117th Congress and the current Administration.

The private, nonprofit higher education sector in Oregon stands ready to assist you in this collective effort to ensure the Pell Grant program continues to transform the lives of the students we serve.

Sincerely,

Miles Davis President, Linfield University Chair, Board of Trustees Oregon Alliance of Independent Colleges and Universities

8215 SW Tualatin Sherwood Road, Suite 200 Tualatin, OR 97062 Lake Oswego, OR 97035 503.342.0004 www.oaicu.org

Jarge & Dapman

Joseph Womack President Bushnell University

1 12

Sheldon Nord President Corban University

Robin Baker President George Fox University

In Wievel

Wim Wiewel President Lewis & Clark College

Dr. G. Craig Williford

Craig Williford President Multnomah University

Meleni Hemken man

Melanie Henriksen Interim President National University of Natural Medicine

David Ellis Interim President Pacific Northwest College of Art

Sley M. Hallick

Lesley Hallick President Pacific University

Aum

Audrey Bilger President Reed College

ack Forman, coc.

Rev. Mark Poorman, C.S.C President University of Portland

K Bry

Joseph Brimhall President University of Western States

Brian Johnson President Warner Pacific University

Charles Conniry President Western Seminary

hin & Thorsett

Stephen Thorsett President Willamette University