

AVIC ASSOCIATION OF VERMONT INDEPENDENT COLLEGES

... independent thinking for a collaborative world

PO Box 254, Montpelier, Vermont 05601 802.828.8826 vermont-icolleges.org sstitely@vermont-icolleges.org

March 29, 2021

Senator Patrick Leahy 437 Russell Senate Office Building Washington DC, 20510

Congressman Peter Welch 2187 Rayburn House Office Building Washington DC, 20515 Senator Bernie Sanders 332 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington DC, 20510

Dear Congressional Delegation:

On behalf of the 12 presidents of the Vermont Association of Independent Colleges member institutions, we are writing to ask you to support President Biden's proposal to double the Pell Grant. Doubling the Pell Grant is one of the most effective steps Congress could take to make college education more affordable for a larger number of working-class and first-generation Vermont students.

We also ask that you work to ensure that the change is permanent by making the increased portion of the grant an entitlement. This will help to create more access and success for the nearly 9,500 Pell Grant students who attend Vermont's postsecondary institutions each year.

Next year our nation will celebrate the 50^{*} Anniversary of the Pell Grant program. It would be a wonderful tribute to our nation if in honor of this important milestone the Pell Grant were doubledby the June 23, 2022 anniversary and paid for through an entitlement involving mandatory spending. This year, the program will provide almost \$37.5 million to help students attend college in our state. The impact this program has had on the lives of individuals and their families, and the economic health and competitiveness of the State of Vermont, and indeed the nation, is without parallel.

The private higher education sector in Vermont stands ready to assist you in this collective effort to ensure this program can continue to transform the lives of the students we serve.

Respectfully, Susan Stitely President, Association of Vermont Independent Colleges

AVIC Member Presidents

President Laura Walker Bennington College

President Michelle Ollie Center for Cartoon Studies

President Benjamin Akande Champlain College

President Bernard Bull Goddard College

President Peter Eden Landmark College

President Laurie Patton Middlebury College President Mark Anarumo Norwich University

President Lorraine Sterritt St. Michael's College

President Sophie Howlett SIT

President Matthew Derr Sterling College

President Leslie Ward Vermont College of Fine Arts

Interim President Beth McCormick Vermont Law School