NAICU Membership Elects 2008-09 Board of Directors

February 08, 2008

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                                   

CONTACT: Libby May,

office: (202) 739-0477  cell: (301) 529-7313 


Tony Pals,

office: (202) 739-0474     cell: (202) 288-9333 

WASHINGTON, D.C.—The membership of the National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (NAICU) have selected 15 new board directors and four new board officers for 2008-09.  NAICU is the leading national association representing private higher education, serving as the unified voice of nearly 1,000 independent college and university presidents, and specialized, state, and regional association executives.  NAICU member institutions enroll nine of every 10 students attending a private college or university in the United States.  

Members of NAICU’s board of director set the association’s agenda on federal higher education policy; actively encourage support of NAICU priorities and initiatives; and oversee the association’s financial administration.  Members serve three-year terms.
“NAICU’s new board members and officers were selected by their peers because of their expertise in the field, proven leadership, and commitment to America’s college students,” said NAICU President David L. Warren. “They assume their responsibilities at a time of great challenge and transformation for American higher education.

 “The federal budget deficit, growing student financial need, increasingly competitive global economy, and today’s culture of accountability are among the dynamics affecting higher education,” Warren said.

 “Decisions made in Washington over the coming months and years will have significant consequences for whether students can afford to attend the institution of their choice, the ability of our institutions to maintain high academic standards, and the extent to which the federal government reaches into the management of our institutions and the privacy of our students,” Warren said. “Congress and the administration have the opportunity to make college more affordable, safeguard the American system of decentralized higher education, and work constructively with institutions to advance the nation’s economic strength, security, and science leadership. Our new board members and leaders will be critical to our efforts to make these goals a reality.”


New NAICU Board Officers


Dr. Victor J. Boschini, Jr., chancellor of Texas Christian University in Fort Worth, Texas, has been elected chair of the NAICU board of directors. His one-year term as chair of NAICU=s board was ratified February 6 by member college and university presidents at the 2008 NAICU Annual Meeting.  Vice chair of the board in 2007-08, Boschini succeeds Leslie Garner, president of Cornell College in Mount Vernon, Iowa, who remains on the board as past chair. 

Boschini assumed office as Texas Christian University’s 10th chancellor in 2003.  Boschini came to TCU after serving as president of Illinois State University in Normal, Ill., from 1999 to 2003.  At Illinois State, Boschini held the positions of vice president for student affairs and associate professor of education.  Earlier, he held administrative and teaching posts at Butler University and Indiana University.  Boschini received his bachelor’s degree from Mount Union College, master’s in personnel from Bowling Green State University, and doctorate in higher education administration from Indiana University.


Dr. Walter D. Broadnax, president, Clark Atlanta University, in Atlanta, Ga., has been named vice chair. Broadnax became president of Clark Atlanta University in August of 2002. Prior to his presidency at Clark Atlanta University, he served as dean of the school of public affairs at American University in Washington, D.C., and as professor of public policy and management in the school of public affairs at the University of Maryland, where he also directed the university’s Bureau of Governmental Research. Broadnax received his bachelor’s of arts degree from Washburn University and master’s in public administration degree from the University of Kansas. His doctorate degree is from the Maxwell School at Syracuse University.


Dr. S. Georgia Nugent, president of Kenyon College in Gambier, Ohio, has been named secretary


Dr. Joseph McGowan, president of Bellarmine University, in Louisville, Ky, has been named treasurer.


Eight new members were elected to three-year terms on the NAICU board, representing the association=s national regions:

Rev. Brian J. Shanley, president, Providence College, Providence, R.I.
Region I (Conn., Maine, Mass., N.H., R.I., Vt.)

Dr. Baird Tipson
, president, Washington College, Chestertown, Md.
Region II (Del., D.C., Md., N.J., N.Y.)

Dr. Peyton R. Helm
, president, Muhlenberg College, Allentown, Pa.
Region III (Ky., Ohio, Pa., W.Va.) 

Dr. William T. Greer, president, Virginia Wesleyan College, Norfolk, Va.
Region IV ( Fla., Ga., N.C., S.C., Va.) 

Dr. Daniel J. Carey, president, Edgewood College, Madison, Wis.
Region V (Ill., Ind., Mich., Wis.)

Dr. Roger Parrott, president, Belhaven College, Jackson, Miss.

Region VI (Ala., Ark., La., Miss., Okla., Tenn. Texas)


Dr. R. Alton Lacey, president, Missouri Baptist University, St. Louis, Mo.
Region VII (Iowa, Kan., Minn., Mo., Neb., N.D., S.D.)

Dr. Thomas L. Hellie, president, Linfield College, McMinnville, Ore.
Region VIII (Alaska, Ariz., Calif., Colo., Hawaii, Idaho, Mont., N.M., Nev., Ore., Utah, Wash., Wyo.)


Four presidents have been named to three-year terms as at-large members of the board:


Dr. Pamela Jolicoeur, president, Concordia College at Moorhead, Moorhead, Minn.

Dr. Jennifer Braaten, president, Ferrum College, Ferrum, Va.

Dr. John DeGioia, president, Georgetown University, Washington, D.C.

Dr. Larry Earvin, president, Huston-Tillotson College, Austin, Texas

One individual has been selected to serve a three-year term as a representative of the National Association of Independent College and University State Executives:


Ms. Judith B. Greiman president, Connecticut Conference on Independent Colleges, Hartford, Conn.


One individual has been selected to serve a three-year term as a representative of the NAICU Secretariat, an advisory board made up of the executives of specialized and regional independent college and university association:

Mr. Gary Luhr, executive director, Association of Presbyterian Colleges and Universities, Louisville, Ky. 

One individual has been selected to serve a three-year term as a non-voting member of the board:


Ms. Ellen Smith, director of government relations, Columbia University, New York, N.Y.


NAICU serves as the unified national voice of independent higher education.  Since 1976, the association has represented private colleges and universities on policy issues with the federal government, such as those affecting student aid, taxation, and government regulation.  With nearly 1,000 member institutions and associations, NAICU reflects the diversity of private, nonprofit higher education in the United States.  NAICU members enroll 85 percent of all students attending private institutions.  They include traditional liberal arts colleges, major research universities, comprehensive universities, church- and faith-related institutions, historically black colleges, Hispanic-serving institutions, single-sex colleges, art institutions, two-year colleges, and schools of law, medicine, engineering, business, and other professions. 




MORE News from NAICU