Congressional Independent Colleges Caucus


The Congressional Independent Colleges Caucus was launched in February 2017 to provide Members of Congress an opportunity to both celebrate and advance the diversity of the nation's private, nonprofit colleges and universities, and learn about the challenges and issues that these institutions face.

The caucus serves as an infomal group of Members dedicated to addressing the issues related to private, nonprofit colleges and the students they serve, while educating other Members on the issues facing independent colleges and universities,.

How to Get Involved

NAICU member presidents can invited their representatives using the following tools:  

Caucus Members (November 2017)

House of Representatives​

Bob Goodlatte (R-VA) *
Michael Capuano (D-MA) *

Pete Aguilar (D-CA)
Jim Banks (R-IN)
Donald Beyer (D-VA)
Rod Blum (R-IA)
Dave Brat (R-VA)
Larry Buschon (R-IN)
Buddy Carter (R-GA)
Matt Cartwright (D-PA)
Steve Chabot (R-OH)
David Cicilline (D-RI)
Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ)
James Comer (R-KY)
Barbara Comstock (R-VA)
Charlie Dent (R-PA)
Debbie Dingell (D-MI)
​Mike Gallagher (R-WI)
Tom Garrett (R-VA)

Bob Gibbs (R-OH)
Tom Graves (R-GA)
Morgan Griffith (R-VA)
Glenn Grothman (R-WI)
Brian Higgins (D-NY)
Jim Himes (D-CT)
David Joyce (R-OH)
Ron Kind (D-WI)
Ann McLane Kuster (D-NH)
Jim Langevin (D-RI)
John Larson (D-CT)
Robert Latta (R-OH)
Dave Loebsack (D-IA)
Mike Kelly (R-PA)
Joe Kennedy (D-MA) 
Derek Kilmer (D-WA)
Steve King (R-IA)

Doris Matsui (D-CA)
James McGovern (D-MA)
Jerry McNerney (D-CA)
Mark Meadows (R-NC)
Luke Messer (R-IN)
Gwen Moore (D-WI)
Frank Pallone (D-NJ)
Mark Pocan (D-WI)
Martha Roby (R-AL)
Lamar Smith (R-TX)
Elise Stefanik (R-NY)
Steve Stivers (R-OH)
Michael Turner (R-OH)
Peter Visclosky (D-IN)
Jackie Walorski (R-IN)
Joe Wilson (R-SC)
Robert Wittman (R-VA)

U.S. Senate

Joe Donnelly (D-IN)
Ed Markey (D-MA)

* Co-chair