The Henry Paley Memorial Award


Four recent winners of Paley Award: Bassett, Trout, Nelson, McGuire
William "Bill" Troutt, president of Rhodes College (TN) and 2017 recipient of the Henry Paley Award, receives congratulations from three former recipients, John Bassett, (2016), Chris Nelson (2015), and Patricia McGuire (2012).
Named for Henry Paley, president of the Commission on Independent Colleges and Universities of New York from 1975-1984, the Paley Award recognizes an individual who embodies his spirit of unfailing service toward the students and faculty of independent colleges and universities. Paley Award recipients have set an example for all who would seek to advance educational opportunity in the United States. 


  • 2018 - John B. Wilson, President, Association of Independent Colleges and Universities of New Jersey (News Release)
  • 2017 - William E. "Bill" Trout, Ph.D., President, Rhodes College (TN) (News Release)
  • 2016 - John E. Bassett, Ph,D., President, Heritage University (WA) (News Release)
  • 2015 - Christopher B. Nelson, J.D., President, St. John's College (MD) (News Release) 
  • 2014 - Legal Servies Review Panel, NAICU (News Release)
  • 2013 - Bernard Fryshman, Ph.D., Executive Vice President, Association of Advanced Rabbinical and Talmudic Schools (News Release)
  • 2012 - Patricia A. McGuire, J.D., President, Trinity Washington University (DC)
    (News Release)
  • 2011 - Rev. Charles L. Currie, S.J., President, Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities (News Release)
  • 2010 - Sister Kathleen Ross, SNJM, President, Heritage University (WA) (News Release)
  • 2009 - Morgan Odell, Association of Independent California Colleges and Universities (News Release)
  • 2008 - Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C., President, University of Notre Dame (IN)         (News Release)
  • 2007 - Alexander W. (Sandy) Astin, Higher Education Research Institute, University of Calfornia (News Release)
  • 2006 - Clare Cotton, The Association of Independent Colleges and Universities of Massachusetts (News Release)
  • 2005 - Robert N. Kelly, Kansas Independent College Association
  • 2004 - Michael S. McPherson, Ph.D.,, Spencer Foundation, Macalester College (MN)
  • 2003 - James C. Ross, Commission on Independent Colleges and Universities of New York (News Release)
  • 2002 - Allen P. Splete, Council of Independent Colleges (News Release)
  • 2001 - No award given; NAICU 25th Anniversary recognized all previous winners
  • 2000 - Sr. Mary Andrew Matesich, O.P., Ohio Dominican College (News Release)
  • 1999 - David Irwin, Washington Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (News Release)
  • 1998 - Rev. William J. Sullivan, Seattle University (WA)
  • 1997 - James Whalen, Ph.D., Ithaca College (NY)
  • 1996 - John Frazer, Association of Independent Kentucky Colleges and Universities
  • 1995 - Richard F. Rosser, NAICU
  • 1994 - Sr. Dorothy Ann Kelly, OSU, College of New Rochelle (NY)
  • 1993 - Derek Bok, J.D.,, Harvard University (MA)
  • 1992 - No award given
  • 1991 - Francis "Mike" Michelini, Association of Independent Colleges and Universities of Pennsylvania
  • 1990 - The Hon. Silvio Conte, U.S. House of Representatives (R-MA)
  • 1989 - The Hon. Thomas H. Kean, Governor of New Jersey
  • 1988 - The Hon. William H. Natcher, U.S. House of Representatives (D-KY)
  • 1987 - Frank "Sandy" Tredinnick, Association of Independent Colleges and Universities of Massachusetts
  • 1986 - James Ream, Pennsylvania Association of Colleges and Universities 
  • 1985 - Rev. Timothy S., Healy, S.J. Georgetown University (DC)