Membership > NAICU Secretariat 

NAICU Secretariat 

The NAICU Secretariat consists of 26 members representing the many regional and special-purpose independent college and university associations.  Secretariat members serve on NAICU's policy committees and the board. The Secretariat is comprised of many different faith-based associations, women’s colleges, work colleges, colleges of art and design, medical specialty, and regional groups such as the Great Lakes, Midwest, South, and Appalachia.  The Secretariat members range from large associations, like the Coalition of Christian Colleges and Universities with over 180 member institutions, to the very small, such as the Work Colleges Consortium with seven member institutions. 

NAICU's Secretariat members and colleges represent the heart of the diversity of the NAICU membership. NAICU relies on its Secretariat members during federal advocacy efforts on key bills before Congress.  

NAICU's Secretariat members and campuses admit a large percentage of minorities, first-generation students, and a significant amount of Pell recipients.  The Secretariat members are both strong and vulnerable, and the entire NAICU membership benefits from their participation and partnership. 


Secretariat Chair: Rev. Dennis H. Holtschneider (Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities)
Secretariat Vice Chair: Dr. Michael A. McDonald (Great Lakes Colleges Association)

American Association of Presidents of Independent Colleges & Universities

Joshua D.K. Figueira J.D.

Executive Director

c/o Brigham Young University

P.O. Box 7070

Provo, UT 84602-7070 US

(801) 422-2235

Fax: (801) 422-2065

Associated Colleges of the Midwest

Sonya Malunda M.B.A.


180 N. Michigan Avenue

Suite 2020

Chicago, IL 60601 US

(312) 263-5000

Fax: (312) 263-5879

Association for Biblical Higher Education

Philip E. Dearborn Ed.D.


5850 T.G. Lee Blvd.

Suite 130

Orlando, FL 32822 US

(407) 207-0808

Fax: (407) 207-0840

Association of Advanced Rabbinical & Talmudic Schools

Bernard Fryshman Ph.D.

Executive Vice President

2329 Nostrand Ave.

Suite M-200

Brooklyn, NY 11210 US

(212) 363-1991

Fax: (212) 533-5335

Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities

Dennis H. Holtschneider CM, Ed.D.


One Dupont Circle NW

Suite 650

Washington, DC 20036 US

(202) 457-0650

Fax: (202) 728-0977

Association of Chiropractic Colleges

Ann Marie Munson

Executive Director

4424 Montgomery Avenue

Suite 202

Bethesda, MD 20814 US

(314) 227-2100

Fax: (314) 207-2420

Association of Colleges and Universities of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

Steven M. Sandberg J.D.

Executive Director

P.O. Box 7070

Provo, UT 84602-7070 US

(801) 422-2235

Fax: (801) 422-0265

Association of Independent Colleges of Art and Design

Deborah Obalil

President & Executive Director

236 Hope St.

Providence, RI 02906 US

(401) 270-5991

Fax: (401) 270-5993

Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities

Michael J. Garanzini S.J.


1 Dupont Circle, Ste. 405

Washington, DC 20036-1136 US

(202) 862-9893

Fax: (202) 862-8523

Conference for Mercy Higher Education

Julia Cavallo Ed.D.

Executive Director

8403 Colesville Rd.

Suite 400

Silver Spring, MD 20910 US

(301) 273-9736

Fax: (301) 587-0533

Consortium of Hospital Affiliated Colleges and Universities

Nate Brandstater Ph.D.


7600 N. Academic Drive

Peoria, IL 61615 US

(309) 672-5583

Fax: (309) 671-2910

Consortium on Financing Higher Education

Janet L. Rapelye


1 Main Street

Suite 1210

Cambridge, MA 02142 US

(617) 253-5030

Fax: (617) 258-8280

Council for Christian Colleges & Universities

Shirley V. Hoogstra J.D.


321 8th St., N.E.

Washington, DC 20002-6158 US

(202) 546-8713

Fax: (202) 546-8913

Council of Independent Colleges

Marjorie Hass Ph.D.


1 Dupont Cir., Ste. 320

Washington, DC 20036-1110 US

(202) 466-7230

GBHEM/Division of Higher Education

Tamara K. Gieselman D. Min

Assistant Vice President for Education and Innovation

P.O. Box 340007

Nashville, TN 37203-0007 US

(615) 340-7406

Fax: (615) 340-7379

Great Lakes Colleges Association

Michael A. McDonald Ph.D.


535 W. William, Ste. 301

Ann Arbor, MI 48103-4943 US

(734) 661-2350

Fax: (734) 661-2349

International Association of Baptist Colleges and Universities

Barbara Childers McMillin D.A.


800 Lakeshore Drive

SU Box 293935

Birmingham, AL 35229 US

(865) 607-2706

International Board of Education - Church of the Nazarene

Klaus Arnold Ph.D.

Director of Global Education and Clergy Development

Global Ministry Center

17001 Prairie Star Pkwy.

Lenexa, KS 66220 US

(913) 577-0530

Fax: (913) 577-0858

Lutheran Educational Conference of North America

Mark N. Wilhelm Ph.D.

Executive Director

8765 W. Higgins Road

Chicago, IL 60631 US

(773) 380-2881

The Association of Presbyterian Colleges and Universities

Jeffrey E. Arnold

Executive Director

c/o Agnes Scott College, Box 1102

141 E. College Avenue

Decatur, GA 30030 US

(470) 443-1924

The Association of Theological Schools

Frank M. Yamada M.Div., Ph.D.


10 Summit Park Dr.

Pittsburgh, PA 15275-1103 US

(412) 788-6505

Fax: (412) 788-6510

The New American Colleges & Universities

Sean J. Creighton Ph.D.


1211 Far Hills Avenue

Suite 210

Dayton, OH 45419 US

(937) 430-0349

UNCF - United Negro College Fund, Inc.

Michael Lomax Ph.D.

President and CEO

1805 7th Street, NW

Washington, DC 20001 US

(202) 810-0220

Fax: (202) 234-0222

Women's College Coalition

Emerald M. Archer Ph.D.


c/o Mount Saint Mary's University

Doheny Campus - 10 Chester Place

Los Angeles, CA 90007 US

(213) 477-2544

Work Colleges Consortium

Brenda Boggs

Executive Director

CPO 2163, Berea College

Berea, KY 40404 US

(859) 985-3816

Fax: (859) 985-3914

Yes We Must Coalition

Gloria Nemerowicz Ph.D.

Founder & President

5 Coltsway

Wayland, MA 01778 US

(508) 358-7704

1025 Connecticut Ave., N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20036 | (202) 785-8866
© 2016 National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities. All Rights Reserved.