National Association of Independent College and University State Executives 


The National Association of Independent College and University State Executives (NAICUSE) is composed of the leaders of state associations representing independent colleges and universities. State associations that are members of NAICUSE are also members of NAICU. Currently, 36 states, the Disctrict of Columbia, and Puerto Rico are represented in NAICUSE.  The association presidents have been an integral partner in support of NAICU’s advocacy on behalf of private, nonprofit colleges and universities. 

The convergence of federal-state issues in education policy has placed a premium on the NAICU-NAICUSE relationship. The organizations work together to develop NAICU's “Home and Away, Capitol Conversations” strategy. The NAICUSE schedule Hill visits for presidents during NAICU’s Annual Meeting in Washington, DC. Members of the NAICU staff are frequently invited to present or facilitate policy discussions with NAICUSE boards, students on state lobby days, or advocacy coalitions.  

The State Executives have an informal motto, “Every State is Different,” and that is reflected in the size and shape of their individual organizations. 
 

Officers

NAICUSE Chair: Ms. Kristen Soares (Association of Independent California Colleges & Universities)

Alabama Association of Independent Colleges and Universities

Mr. Paul Hankins

President

5950 Carmichael Pl., Ste. 213

Montgomery, AL 36117 US

(334) 356-2220

Fax: (334) 356-2202

hankinsp@knology.net

Arkansas' Independent Colleges & Universities

Dr. Rex M. Horne, Jr.

President

1 Riverfront Place

Suite 610

North Little Rock, AR 72114 US

(501) 378-0843

Fax: (501) 374-1523

rhorne@arkindcolleges.org

Association of Independent California Colleges & Universities

Ms. Kristen Soares

President

1121 L Street

Suite 802

Sacramento, CA 95814 US

(916) 446-7626

Fax: (916) 446-7948

Kristen.soares@aiccu.edu

Association of Independent Colleges & Universities in Massachusetts

Mr. Richard Doherty

President

11 Beacon St., Ste. 1224

Boston, MA 02108-3093 US

(617) 742-5147

Fax: (617) 742-3089

richard.doherty@bc.edu

Association of Independent Colleges & Universities of Pennsylvania

Dr. Don Francis

President

101 N. Front St.

Harrisburg, PA 17101-1405 US

(717) 232-8649

Fax: (717) 233-8574

francis@aicup.org

Association of Independent Colleges & Universities of Rhode Island

Mr. Daniel P. Egan

President

The Avalon at Center Place

50 Park Row West, Suite 100

Providence, RI 02903 US

(401) 272-8270

Fax: (401) 272-9194

degan@aicuri.org

Association of Independent Colleges and Universities in New Jersey

Mr. John B. Wilson

President

797 Springfield Ave.

Summit, NJ 07901-1107 US

(908) 277-3738

Fax: (908) 277-0851

jbwilson@njcolleges.org

Association of Independent Colleges and Universities of Ohio

Mr. C. Todd Jones

President and General Counsel

41 S. High St., Ste. 1690

Columbus, OH 43215-6152 US

(614) 228-2196

Fax: (614) 228-8406

tjones@aicuo.edu

Association of Independent Kentucky Colleges & Universities

Dr. Gary S. Cox

President

484 Chenault Rd.

Frankfort, KY 40601-9260 US

(502) 695-5007

Fax: (502) 695-5057

gary.cox@aikcu.org

Association of Vermont Independent Colleges

Ms. Susan Stitely

President

P.O. Box 254

Montpelier, VT 05601 US

(802) 828-8826

Fax: (802) 654-2835

sstitely@vermont-icolleges.org

Commission on Independent Colleges & Universities

Ms. Mary Beth Labate

President

17 Elk St., P.O. Box 7289

Albany, NY 12224 US

(518) 436-4781

Fax: (518) 436-0417

mblabate@cicu.org

Connecticut Conference of Independent Colleges

Ms. Jennifer Widness

President

21 Talcott Notch Rd., Ste. 1

Farmington, CT 06032 US

(860) 678-0005

Fax: (860) 678-0006

widnessj@theccic.org

Consortium of Universities of the Washington Metropolitan Area

Dr. John C. Cavanaugh

President

1100 H Street, N.W.

Suite 500

Washington, DC 20005-5493 US

(202) 331-8080

Fax: (202) 331-7925

jcavanaugh@consortium.org

Council of Independent Colleges in Virginia

Mr. Robert B. Lambeth, Jr.

President

P.O. Box 1005

Bedford, VA 24523-1005 US

(540) 586-0606

Fax: (540) 586-2630

lambeth@cicv.org

Federation of Independent Illinois Colleges and Universities

Mr. David W. Tretter

President

1123 S. Second St.

Springfield, IL 62704-2902 US

(217) 789-1400

Fax: (217) 789-6259

davetretter@federationedu.org

Georgia Independent College Association

Dr. Susanna Baxter

President

600 W. Peachtree St., NW

Suite 1710

Atlanta, GA 30308 US

(404) 233-5433

Fax: (404) 233-6309

sbaxter@georgiacolleges.org

Independent Colleges and Universities of Florida, Inc.

Dr. Ed H. Moore

President

542 East Park Avenue

Tallahassee, FL 32301 US

(850) 681-3188

Fax: (850) 681-0057

emoore@icuf.org

Independent Colleges and Universities of Missouri

Mr. William Gamble

Executive Director

P.O. Box 1865

Jefferson City, MO 65102-1865 US

(573) 635-9160

Fax: (573) 635-6258

bill@molobby.com

Independent Colleges and Universities of Texas, Inc.

Mr. Ray Martinez, III

President

1303 San Antonio Street

Suite 820

Austin, TX 78701 US

(512) 615-9315

Fax: (512) 472-2371

ray.martinez@icut.org

Independent Colleges of Indiana

Dr. Richard L. Ludwick

President

30 South Meridian Street

Suite 800

Indianapolis, IN 46204 US

(317) 236-6090

Fax: (317) 236-6086

rludwick@icindiana.org

Independent Colleges of Washington

Ms. Violet A. Boyer

President

600 Stewart St., Ste. 600

Seattle, WA 98101 US

(206) 623-4494

Fax: (206) 625-9621

violet@ICWashington.org

Independent Higher Education of Colorado

Mark Cavanaugh

Executive Director

1177 Grant St., No. 102

Denver, CO 80203 US

(303) 571-5559

Fax: (303) 571-5231

mcavanaugh@IHEcolorado.org

Iowa Association of Independent Colleges and Universities

Mr. Gary Steinke

President

505 5th Ave., Ste. 1030

Des Moines, IA 50309-2399 US

(515) 282-3175

Fax: (515) 282-8177

gary@iaicu.org

Kansas Independent College Association

Mr. Matthew E. Lindsey

President

700 S. Kansas Ave., Ste. 622

Topeka, KS 66603-3823 US

(785) 235-9877

Fax: (785) 235-1437

matt@kscolleges.org

Louisiana Association of Independent Colleges and Universities

Ms. Mary Ann Coleman

President

320 Third St., Ste. 104

Baton Rouge, LA 70802-4507 US

(225) 389-9885

Fax: (225) 389-0149

maryann@laicu.org

Maine Independent Colleges Association

Mr. Dan Walker

Partner

c/o PretiFlaherty

45 Memorial Circle, P.O. 1058

Augusta, ME 04332-0158 US

(207) 623-5300

Fax: (207) 623-2914

dwalker@preti.com

Maryland Independent College and University Association

Ms. Tina M. Bjarekull

President

140 South Street

Annapolis, MD 21401 US

(410) 269-0306

Fax: (410) 269-5905

tbjarekull@micua.org

Michigan Independent Colleges & Universities

Mr. Robert LeFevre

President

120 N. Washington Street

Suite 950

Lansing, MI 48933 US

(517) 372-9160

Fax: (517) 372-9165

rlefevre@MIcolleges.org

Minnesota Private College Council

Mr. Paul Cerkvenik

President

North Central Life Tower

445 Minnesota St., Ste. 500

St. Paul, MN 55101 US

(651) 293-6812

Fax: (651) 228-0379

pcerkvenik@mnprivatecolleges.org

Mississippi Association of Independent Colleges & Universities

Dr. E. Harold Fisher

Executive Director

P.O. Drawer 2933

Ridgeland, MS 39158-2933 US

(601) 206-5360

Fax: (601) 977-0233

ehfisher@bellsouth.net

New Hampshire College & University Council

Mr. Thomas R. Horgan

President and CEO

3 Barrell Court, Ste. 100

Concord, NH 03301-8543 US

(603) 225-4199

Fax: (603) 225-8108

horgan@nhcuc.org

North Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities

Dr. A. Hope Williams

President

530 N. Blount St.

Raleigh, NC 27604 US

(919) 832-5817

Fax: (919) 833-0794

williams@ncicu.org

Oklahoma Independent Colleges and Universities

Ms. Lesa Smaligo

Executive Director

The Smaligo Group

P.O. Box 52601

Tulsa, OK 74152 US

(405) 501-2885

Fax: (918) 764-9304

lesa@smaligogroup.com

Oregon Alliance of Independent Colleges and Universities

Kristen Grainger

President

1211 SW 5th Avenue

Suite 1900

Portland, OR 97204 US

(503) 639-4541

Fax: (503) 639-4851

grainger@oaicu.org

South Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities

Mr. Mike LeFever

President & CEO

P.O. Box 12007

Columbia, SC 29211 US

(803) 799-7122

Fax: (803) 254-7504

mike@scicu.org

Tennessee Independent Colleges and Universities Association

Dr. Claude Pressnell

President

1031 17th Avenue South

Nashville, TN 37212-5317 US

(615) 242-6400

Fax: (615) 242-8033

pressnell@ticua.org

Wisconsin Association of Independent Colleges and Universities

Dr. Rolf Wegenke

President

122 W. Washington Street

Suite 700

Madison, WI 53703-2718 US

(608) 256-7761

Fax: (608) 256-7065

rolf.wegenke@waicu.org

Top