NAICU Washington Update

$1.6 Billion in Loans for HBCUs Forgiven

April 09, 2021

The Department of Education announced the forgiveness of $1.6 billion in outstanding loans for Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) in the HBCU Capital Financing program. The loan forgiveness received by HBCUs was authorized in the Coronavirus Response and Relief Supplemental Appropriations Act (CRRSAA). This action will provide debt relief to 45 HBCUs total – 13 public institutions and 32 private, nonprofit institutions. 

The following NAICU members will receive loan forgiveness in this program.
  • Allen University
  • Arkansas Baptist College
  • Bennett College
  • Bethune–Cookman University
  • Claflin University
  • Hampton University
  • Huston-Tillotson University
  • Jarvis Christian College
  • Johnson C. Smith University
  • Lane College
  • LeMoyne-Owen College
  • Livingstone College
  • Miles College
  • Philander Smith College
  • Shaw University
  • Talladega College
  • Texas College
  • Virginia Union University
  • Voorhees College
  • Wilberforce University
  • Wiley College
  • Xavier University of Louisiana

MORE News from NAICU